Nominees for Scottish Alternative Music Awards announced

Forty-two of Scotland’s music acts have been announced as nominees for this year’s annual Scottish Alternative Music Awards (SAMAs).
Billy Kirkwood. Picture: SAMABilly Kirkwood. Picture: SAMA
Billy Kirkwood. Picture: SAMA

Now in its sixth year, the award show aims to showcase the best of Scotland’s alternative music scene. The winners will be announced at the ceremony which is set to take place on October 8th at the Glasgow Garage.

Nominees have been divided into seven categories including best newcomer, best live act and best hip hop with musicians from every corner of the country getting a nod from the SAMAs judging panel.

Hide Ad

Acts including Neon Waltz, We Came From Wolves and Huxtable are among those shortlisted for a gong.

Awards founder, Richy Muirhead, has revealed that the event will be hosted by a selection of special guests and will include performances by previous winners and nominees including Holy Esque and Crash Club.

Richy said: “The shortlist is extremely strong this year, with nominees from every corner of Scotland. There is a huge surge in nominations for new bands which goes to show that Scotland is forever churning out new and exciting talent.

“I’m delighted with the 42 acts who made the shortlist”, he added. “It really shows the diversity of the Scottish scene and the SAMAs will be a great platform to bring these artists to a wider audience. The show on the 8th will be a very special night for us and all involved.”

Organisers have spent this year celebrating bands from across Scotland at a number of intimate gigs, but the final decision lies in the hands of the public who will be invited to cast their votes to determine who wins on the night.

Tickets are available now for as low as £6.

See below for a full list of nominees:

BEST ROCK/ALTERNATIVE sponsored by EmuBands



Catholic Action

Dear John



BEST NEWCOMER sponsored by UWS Creative

Martha Ffion

White Baer

Man of Moon


Bella & the Bear


BEST HIP HOP sponsored by Splitter Scotland


Delighted Peoples

DJ Yemster & Hextasy

The Ill Collective

Bigg Taj & Speesixnine

Spring Break

BEST ELECTRONIC sponsored by Eventbrite



Our Future Glory


Crash Club

Clyde Rouge

BEST ACOUSTIC sponsored by CitizenM

C Duncan

The Jellyman’s Daughter

Stella Reilly

Best Girl Athlete

Sean C Kennedy

Dr Wook

BEST LIVE ACT sponsored by Bar Bloc


Ded Rabbit

Copper Lungs

Kathryn Joseph

Colonel Mustard & The Dijon 5

Neon Waltz

BEST METAL sponsored by Cathouse Glasgow

Mountains Under Oceans

The Amorettes

Dividesholy Mountain

Seed of Sorrow

Blackened Ritual