When is the World Cup? Start date of next major football tournament in Qatar 2022 - and who has qualified

Russia 2018 golden boot award winner Harry Kane will be vying to retain that crown in Qatar 2022 after England sealed qualification to the next World Cup

Emir of the State of Qatar Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa Al-Thani (L) receives the World Cup trophy from Fifa President Joseph Blatter (R) after the official announcement that Qatar will host the 2022 World Cup on December 2, 2010 at the FIFA headquarters in Zurich. (Pic: Getty)

England have sealed their place at the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

The Euro 2020 finalists made light work of their task in needing a point against San Marino in the final round of qualifying fixtures, beating the minnows 10-0 on the night.

Sign up to our World of Sport newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Harry Kane bagged four, adding to the three he scored against Albania three days before, to move joint third in the all time England top goalscorer leaderboard on 48 - level with Gary Lineker.

Kane needs one more to match Bobby Charlton’s 49 and will have Wayne Rooney (53) in his sights.

Harry Kane will be vying to become the tournament’s top scorer should England qualify for the 2022 World Cup after winning the golden boot award at Russia 2018. (Pic: Getty)

Here’s when the next World Cup will take place, where, and the qualifying groups and fixtures to be played out before then…

Where is World Cup 2022?

Qatar has been chosen as the host country for the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

The Middle Eastern country, east of Saudi Arabia on the Persian Gulf coastline, won the most votes from FIFA in December 2010.

It will be only the second time the World Cup has been held in Asia following the 2002 tournament in South Korea and Japan.

When does World Cup 2022 start?

Qatar 2022 will be the first World Cup to be held through the winter due to the scorching hot weather experienced in the summer months.

The first game of the 2022 World Cup will kick off on Monday 21 November, with four group stage fixtures scheduled each day until Friday 2 December.

The round of 16 will start on Saturday 3 December, with two matches planned per day over four days, to Tuesday 6 December.

Quarter finals are planned for Friday 9 December and Saturday 10 December before the two semi final games on Tuesday 13 December and Wednesday 14 December.

The third place play off will take place on Saturday 17 December and the final will kick off on Sunday 18 December to decide the winner of the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

The dates will interrupt the domestic 2022/23 club seasons across Europe, including the Premier League, if the leagues continue in the usual August to May format.

What are the 2022 World Cup stadiums?

The 2022 World Cup will take place over three host cities in Qatar - Doha, Al Dhakira and Al Wakrah. The stadiums are as follows:

  • Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium - Capacity: 40,000. Opened: 18 December 2020.
  • Al Bayt Stadium - Capacity: 60,000. Opened: TBD.
  • Al Janoub Stadium - Capacity: 40,000. Opened: 2019.
  • Al Thumama Stadium - Capacity: 40,000. Opened: TBD.
  • Education City Stadium - Capacity: 40,000. Completed: 2020.
  • Khalifa International Stadium - Capacity: 45,416. Opened: 1976 (renovated in 2017)
  • Lusail Stadium - Capacity: 80,000. Opened: TBD.
  • Ras Abu Aboud Stadium - Capacity: 40,000. Opened: TBD.

The final of the 2022 World Cup will take place at Lusail Stadium.

Who has qualified for Qatar 2022?

As well as Qatar, the host nation, and England, nine other countries have now qualified for Qatar 2022. These include:

  • Qatar (host nation)
  • England
  • Germany
  • Denmark
  • Brazil
  • France
  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Spain
  • Serbia
  • Switzerland

Who are the World Cup golden boot winners?

The top scorer at the World Cup is known as the golden boot winner.

In 2018, Harry Kane became only the second Englishman to win the award with six goals. Gary Lineker also scored six goals when he took the honour in the 1986 World Cup.

  • 2018 – Harry Kane (England) – 6
  • 2014 – James Rodriguez (Colombia) – 6
  • 2010 – Diego Forlan (Uruguay), Thomas Muller (Germany), Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands), David Villa (Spain) – 5
  • 2006 – Miroslav Klose (Germany) – 5
  • 2002 – Ronaldo (Brazil) – 8
  • 1998 – Davor Suker (Croatia) – 6
  • 1994 – Oleg Salenko (Russia), Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria) – 6
  • 1990 – Salvator Schillachi (Italy) – 6
  • 1986 – Gary Lineker (England) – 6
  • 1982 – Paolo Rossi (Italy) – 6
  • 1978 – Mario Kempes (Argentina) – 6
  • 1974 – Grzegorz Lato (Poland) – 7
  • 1970 – Gerd Muller (Germany) – 10
  • 1966 – Eusebio (Portugal) – 9
  • 1962 – Florian Albert (Hungary), Garrincha (Brazil), Valentin Ivanov (Soviet Union), Drazan Jerkovic (Yugoslavia), Leonel Sanchez (Chile), Vava (Brazil) – 4
  • 1958 – Just Fontaine (France) – 13
  • 1954 – Sandor Kocsis (Hungary) – 11
  • 1950 – Ademir (Brazil) – 8
  • 1938 – Leonidas (Brazil) – 7
  • 1934 – Oldrich Nejedly (Czechoslovakia) – 5
  • 1930 – Guillermo Stabile (Argentina) – 8

A message from the editor:

Thank you for reading. NationalWorld is a new national news brand, produced by a team of journalists, editors, video producers and designers who live and work across the UK. Find out more about who’s who in the team, and our editorial values. We want to start a community among our readers, so please follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and keep the conversation going. You can also sign up to our email newsletters and get a curated selection of our best reads to your inbox every day.