Who won Six Nations 2021? Team to win last year’s rugby union trophy, past championship winners and 2022 odds

The Six Nations gets underway this weekend as England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales compete over a gruelling five rounds.

It all gets underway in Dublin on Saturday afternoon, as Ireland host France before the Calcutta Cup match between Scotland and England takes place at Murrayfield in Edinburgh.

The first round of games is completed on Sunday afternoon, when France and Italy meet in Paris.

The tournament will come to a dramatic end on what is known as ‘Super Saturday’, when all six countries compete on the same day.

Six Nations 2022 fixtures


Ireland v Wales, Saturday Feb 5, KO 14:15, Dublin

Scotland v England, Saturday Feb 5, KO 16:45, Edinburgh

France v Italy Feb 6, KO 15:00, Paris


Wales v Scotland, Saturday Feb 12, KO 14:15, Cardiff

France v Ireland, Saturday Feb 12, KO 16:45, Paris

Italy v England, Sunday Feb 13, KO 15:00, Rome


Scotland v France, Saturday Feb 26, KO 14:15, Edinburgh

England v Wales, Saturday Feb 26, KO 16:45, Twickenham

Ireland v Italy, Sunday Feb 27, KO 15:00, Dublin


Wales v France, Friday March 11, KO 20:00, Cardiff

Italy v Scotland, Saturday March 12, KO 14:15, Rome

England v Ireland, Saturday March 12, KO 16:45, Twickenham


Wales v Italy, Saturday March 19, KO 14:15, Cardiff

Ireland v Scotland, Saturday March 19, KO 16:45, Dublin

France v England, Saturday March 19, KO 20:00, Paris

Who are favourites to lift the Six Nations trophy?

France have not won the Six Nations since 2010 - but they enter this year’s tournament as 6/4 favourites.

World player of the year Antoine Dupont will captain France in the Six Nations. (Photo by FRANCK FIFE/AFP via Getty Images)

England and Ireland are rated as joint-second favourites at 11/4 with Scotland set at 10/1 to claim their first title since 1999.

Wales - who will be without the likes of Ken Owens and the influential Alun Wyn Jones - are 12/1, while Italy are rank outsiders at 20/1.

Who are the current holders?

Wales head into this year’s Six Nations as the current holders after narrowly missing out on completed a grand slam last year.

Wales were crowned Guinness Six Nations champions last year after winning four of their five game. (Photo by Ben Evans - Pool/Getty Images)

Wayne Pivac’s side claimed impressive wins against Italy, Scotland, England and Ireland with only a ‘Super Satuday’ defeat against France denying them a clean sweep.

They had to wait to lift the trophy, after France’s postponed meeting with Scotland was rearranged for the following week.

Les Bleus could have overhauled the Welsh and topped the table if they claimed a bonus point win and a winning margin of over 21 points on the final day.

But the Scots dashed their hopes as Gregor Townsend’s side earned a 23-27 win at the Stade de France - their first win in France since 1999.

Who are the most successful side in Six Nations history?

Since Italy’s introduction into the tournament in 2000, England lead the way with seven Six Nations victories, with the last coming in 2020.

Will Wales retain the Six Nations championship this year or could England pry the trophy from their grasp?

Wales have lifted the trophy on six occasions, with the French on five and Ireland a further one behind.

Scotland are without a championship win since the final Five Nations tournament in 1999 and Italy’s best finish came in 2007 and 201 when they ended the tournament in third position.

A message from the editor:

Thank you for reading. NationalWorld is a new national news brand, produced by a team of journalists, editors, video producers and designers who live and work across the UK. Find out more about who’s who in the team, and our editorial values. We want to start a community among our readers, so please follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and keep the conversation going. You can also sign up to our email newsletters and get a curated selection of our best reads to your inbox every day.